Founded in 1962, the International Centre for Advanced Mediterranean Agronomic Studies (CIHEAM) is an intergovernmental organization including 13 Mediterranean member countries: Albania, Algeria, Egypt, Spain, France, Greece, Italy, Lebanon, Malta, Morocco, Portugal, Tunisia and Turkey. Its headquarters are in Paris.

The Governing Board is the Centre’s managing and decision-making body, and consists of one representative from each member country. Representatives of the OECD and the Council of Europe are ex officio members in an advisory capacity. Representatives of the FAO, the OADA and the European Commission are invited as observers to the meetings of the Governing Board.

The Governing Board is supported by the Scientific Advisory Committee, composed of outstanding personalities chosen from establishments for higher education in agriculture and agricultural research institutes.

The operational structure is the General Secretariat with its Secretary General and the four Mediterranean Agronomic Institutes (MAIs) with their Directors.

At present, Adel El-Beltagy is the President of CIHEAM and Cosimo Lacirignola is the Secretary General.

Last update: Jul 19, 2017